Building Competent CISOs through the Certified Chief Information Security Officer Program

Jan 27, 2022
Posted by
Building Competent CISOs through the Certified Chief Information Security Officer Program.docx

Certified chief information security officer (CCISO) is an exclusive program that is designed to provide top-level of information security professionals by focussing both on technical skills and management strategies of information security as per accordance with executive management’s goals. CISCO trained information security professionals with the right weapons to prevent any cyber crime from harming an organization. To become a certified chief information security officer, an individual must have the technical knowledge and certain skills like maintaining and establishing Organization’s strategy and goal. The CISCO program was developed by concentrating on the most critical aspects of Information Security programs.

The outline and foundation of CISCO program include three components. These are – Training, Body of Knowledge, and CISCO exam. CISCO exam is formed by a group of high-level information security professionals. Exam writers, CISCO Advisory Board, trailers, and quality checkers.

The Role of a Chief Information Security Officer (CISO)

Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) is a senior-level information security professional of the organization. They develop and maintain the strategy of Information Security in order to address emerging threats in the online world in the alignment of business objectives. Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) plays a vital role in creating a team and leading them to protect organizations by reducing cyber-risks, establishing controls, responding to incidents, and implementing and establishing procedures and policies.


What Does the CCISO Program Teach?

The CISCO program focuses on five domains. These domains bring all the components together that is the requirement of a C-level position. The domain combines governance, controls, security risk management, audit management, information security core concepts, strategic planning, security program management and operations, finance, and vendor management. These are the skills that are very crucial to lead a high;y successful information security program.


The Five Domains of the CISCO program were mapped in the alignment of the NICE Cyber Security Work Force Framework (NCWF). It is a national resource that describes and categorized cyber security work, skills that are needed to perform specific tasks, and listing the set of duties.

The framework consists of the seven most important categories- one of them is “Oversight and development”. It deals with management, leadership, advocacy, and direction. It was because of these requirements that the program of CISCO was created. It was created with skill development courses in legal advice and advocacy, policy development, strategic planning, Information Systems Security Operations (ISSO), and Security Program Management (CISO) related to the NCWF with almost 95%.


Following are the Five CCISO Domains

The Body of Knowledge of CISCO was written by a team of senior-level CISCOs for future CISCOs. They provide in-depth learning of five CISCO domains that are important for a CISO. These five domains concentrate mainly on technical knowledge and information security management principles. Management principles are well optimized from a managerial point of view.


Domain 1: Governance

The Domain 1 is Governance. This domain covers aligning information security requirements, business needs, structured planning, management, and leadership skills in compliance with the law of cyber security and organizations. Latest information security changes, report writing trends, and best practices.


Domain 2: Security Risk Management, Controls, and Audit Management

The Domain 2 is  Security Risk Management, Controls, and Audit Management. As the name suggests this domain covers information security management controls. It includes analyzing, identifying, designing, supervising, and implementing information security controls process to minimize the risk. These also include test controls and provide detailed reports. This domain also covers auditing management. It includes understanding the process, applying principles, skills, techniques, executing the results, evaluate and analyzing the results. Develop fresh procedures.


Domain 3: Security Program Management & Operations

Domain 3 is  Security Program Management & Operations.  This domain covers project development, implementation, planning, budgeting, developing, acquiring, and managing information-security project teams. This domain includes training and assigning tasks, managing teams, ensuring teamwork and communication, evaluating the project to meet the needs of business requirements, achieving optimal system performance, ensuring that any changes and updates in the existing information system processes are done in a timely manner.


Domain 4: Information Security Core Concepts

Domain 4 is information Security Core Concepts. Domain 4 covers designing, implementing, and ensuring proper plans to access the control, phishing attacks, vulnerabilities, risk management, identity theft, disaster recovery, physical security, business continuity plans, network defense systems, firewalls, wireless security, malware threats, virus, secure best practices of coding and securing web applications. It also includes hardening OS, the response of computer forensics and incident response, and encryption technologies.


Domain 5: Strategic Planning, Finance, and Vendor Management

The 5th domain is Strategic Planning, Finance, and Vendor Management. This domain covers designing, developing, and maintaining the information security architecture (EISA) of enterprises. Performing external and internal analysis of the organization and designing a strategic plan that enhances the growth of the business. Acquire and manage resources that are based on an operational budget and understand the financial requirement of other businesses.

To get the best services of certified secure computer users and certified chief information security officer (CCISO), connect GIS consulting for the best solutions.